How do I look up a child support case in NJ?
NJ Child Support Case Information By Phone The phone number is 1-877-NJKiDS-1 (1-877-655-4371). Information available includes payment information, services available, tax offset, visitation, emancipation, custody, and credit bureau reporting.
How do I contact NJ child support?
Call 1-877-NJKiDS1 (1-877-655-4371) or go to www.njchildsupport.org for case and payment information.
How do I check my child support arrears in NJ?
You can also call the New Jersey Family Support Services Center at 1-877-NJKiDS1 to find out if you owe arrears to the state.
Who is in charge of NJ child support?
One is the custodial parent (or the payee) – the one who lives with the child and has the primary day-to-day responsibility. And the other is the non-custodial parent (or the payor) – who also has important responsibilities.
Can you go to jail for not paying child support in New Jersey?
Failing to pay child support in New Jersey is not itself a criminal offense. However, failing pay might be a violation of a court order and may lead to your arrest and incarceration. Not only that, but intentional failures to pay might be charged as contempt, and you may be sentenced to jail time if convicted.
At what age does child support stop in NJ?
19 years old
Child support may end when a child reaches the age of emancipation. In New Jersey, the age of emancipation is typically 19 years old.
Can child support arrears be forgiven in NJ?
The bright line rule is that child support arrears can’t be modified. However, any child support arrears that accrue after a child has been emancipated can be retroactively modified. A parent will have to hire a crafty lawyer and file a motion to request emancipation, and a retroactive modification of child support.
Can child support arrears be dropped in NJ?
Is there a statute of limitations on child support arrears in New Jersey?
New Jersey’s Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears) New Jersey has no statute of limitations pertaining to enforcement of child support orders.
How much is average child support in NJ?
To calculate this, we multiply the total child support amount (line 13) by each parent’s percentage of income. For CP, it is 46% x $342.00, which equals $157.00 per week. For NCP, it is 54% x $342.00, which equals $185.00 per week.
How do I check my Eppicard balance online?
You have unlimited access to our web site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Once a payment is loaded, you may access information regarding your account via the toll-free customer service telephone number 1-866-461-4094 or the Internet at www.eppicard.com.
How far behind in child support before a warrant is issued in NJ?
A prior order authorizes a bench warrant if you failed to pay two weeks of support (or lump sum).
How can I get rid of child support in NJ?
To request to lower the child support based upon the termination of support, the non-custodial parent MUST file a motion or application to reduce child support. The court may recalculate the child support guidelines and set a new child support amount for the remaining children on the order.